Friend Fiction // ‘Chalice’

friendfiction

Haha, OK not really. But I was at the wedding of a good friend yesterday and spent most of today (instead of working on Camp Nano outlines, of course) writing wedding-themed poems and things. And whenever I write anything that’s semi-inspired by friends I always think of this episode of Bob’s Burgers.

Because I AM Tina Belcher.

Since also I’m myself, though, which is to say, a relentlessly depressing person, I ended up returning to my favorite theme of unrequited love instead of like, marital bliss or whatever, by imagining that one of our other friends was in love with the groom, and writing from his perspective. So that’s where the friend fiction bit comes in.

On an unrelated note, I wonder why I don’t have more friends?

So yes. Prose poem!

ChaliceScreenshot 2016-06-26 at 9.55.02 PM

3 thoughts on “Friend Fiction // ‘Chalice’

    • Heya! Sorry for taking so long to respond; end of the month’s been busy, busy, busy.

      Are you planning on posting the story when you’re done editing? I love fiction that takes place during occasions like weddings, funerals, baptisms, etc. (Reminds me of The Godfather, hahaha) I’ve been to some odd, stranger-than-fiction weddings the past couple of years… seems like weird drama is unavoidable at these big family events, so it’s always great fun to write/read about 🙂

      • Yep, weddings can be a bit surreal! I pan too post it, but my husband read it and totally didn’t get it, so I guess it needs work. Hope to revisit it soon!

I MUST ALWAYS KNOW WHAT YOU ARE THINKING

