Day 1, July Camp NaNoWriMo

Hey all. I know I’ve semi-disappeared from WordPress the last couple of weeks, but I’m going to try to update TC&TL daily during July to chart my progress for nano, keeping track of any issues I encounter throughout the month. I’m also going to finally catch up on all the commenting I haven’t been doing! I made sure to keep my schedule as clear as possible for the coming weeks, so there should be plenty of time for everything.

I’ve completed my goal for today, which was to rewrite all of Chapter 1. It’s still far too long (about 13k) but I’ll focus on making cuts when the month’s over and it becomes more clear which details are necessary to keep. While I made significant changes (adding new characters, deleting others, altering the setting, changing Bernard’s background, planting clues early on) I also ended up transposing some passages word-for-word, or nearly so, so I decided to cut the wordcount I achieved in half for nano record keeping. 6.5k is a more accurate reflection of the amount of new material I generated today.

I’m eager to burn through the early chapters, which I’ll be rewriting in this fashion, so I can break through to uncharted territory. I’m eager to jump ahead, but I don’t trust myself to write this one out of order. Too many picky details to lose track of.

At this rate, by day 4 I’ll be free to write entirely new passages, which will be exciting. I expect at that point I’ll start racking up extremely high word counts less often.

Here’s the first page of Where The Light Gets In !!! wooooo~

Screenshot 2016-07-01 at 4.36.54 PM

For any readers who’re also camping this July: how’s your first day going? What kind of projects are you working on?

4 thoughts on “Day 1, July Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. It’s nice to see that you’re doing well with CampNano. I’m amazed at how impactful and gripping your opening pages are, but I also admire your prose. As for me, I’m restarting completely since my previous drafts were quite chaotic and lacked substance. I’m hoping that I can just do as much writing and plotting as possible, since the next two months are really the only free time I will have in a long time.

    Anyway, good luck for completing your novel.

  2. Haha, thanks XD …In the interests of full disclosure, I should note that the opening’s much, much more polished than the rest of what I’ve written. When I start a new project I like to have an opening I can feel decent about. It makes the whole thing feel more official somehow. Everything else is varying degrees of MESS currently.

    When you do nano, do you take the “write now, think later” approach, or do you tend to write more carefully? It can be very freeing to give yourself permission to write whatever comes to mind without worrying about quality — occasionally you can even stumble your way into startling, profound insights — but I know plenty of writers who don’t feel comfortable writing this way. It’s harder, I think, in literary fiction, because so much of the effectiveness of the story is married to the elegance of the prose…

    Anyways, best of luck to you! Hopefully those earlier drafts, even if you’ve had to discard them, helped you understand your novel better. (Selfishly) I’m rooting for you, because it sounds like the kind of thing I’d love to read someday 😛

  3. Yeah I definitely agree, having a good opening makes me feel more confident about writing. Haha, don’t worry, my stuff is equally messy- my notes and my drafts are everywhere.

    I guess I take the “write now, think later” approach to some extent, because I’d rather have something down than nothing. The character development, theme and plot are the bones of my novel for me, once I have something I can always improve the prose so I try not to worry about it. As for the thinking, I wouldn’t say I’m a total pantser as I spend a lot of time planning and gathering ideas when I’m not writing.

    Thanks for your support, it really means a lot to me :). I hope I finish one day too… I’m happy that someone’s interested in my novel since most of my friends aren’t that interested in writing. But I’m equally interested in reading your novel, so hopefully we can both finish or get a good chunk of our nano projects done this time 🙂

  4. Well, you certainly have MY attention! This is a captivating opening. While I am not participating in the Julyness, I tend to do what I call the ‘paper puke.’ Get it all out there and trust my editor-brain to come along and tsk, tsk my work into shape after my crazy child has played and been messy. This is good stuff, my friend 🙂 Cheering you onward!
    (Hoping to spend this work-free week doing the blocking part of my children’s book.)

I MUST ALWAYS KNOW WHAT YOU ARE THINKING

